It’s been five years since this editor last flew JetBlue. So when faced with needing a one-way flight from JFK to LAX, it was with great pain that I made what felt like a Sophie’s Choice, and turned my back on my beloved Virgin America (and the opportunity to pile on Elevate points to my already hefty pile), to try out JetBlue’s first class offering, JetBlue Mint.

Jaunted test-piloted JetBlue Mint on the ground when it launched in 2014 and the photos from that session are very true to what we found on board. I’m using my own photos for this review but if you need further detail on the items onboard, go here.

DEDICATED CHECK-IN

The day before my flight, I received many emails from JetBlue about the flight but one immediately caught my eye. The email announced they were testing a dedicated check-in for anyone flying JetBlue Mint from JFK to LAX or SFO or be a member of the airline’s Mosaic program. You can read all about that experience here. Essentially, Mint flyers have a private check-in and private security lane to go through.

